My Journey to Becoming a Technical Writer.

Part of navigating adulthood means that one is always learning new things where more often than not, one learns by doing. In the information age, I have always turned to the internet to learn from content that is shared by content creators. Through these articles, I picked up tips and tricks on how to manage my money, personal growth and development, and other topics. Reading has always been one of the key things to personal development. Over time, I started writing and sharing my knowledge on the things I had picked up along the way, mainly in personal growth, finance, and sharing inspiring stories. Writing helped me gain confidence to approach people, ask them to share their stories, and improve my understanding of the topics I wrote about.

It would be impossible to talk about my journey to becoming a technical writer without mentioning my journey into web development.

Slightly over a year ago, I stumbled onto the world of software development. I can vividly remember the day when I downloaded Visual Studio Code, wrote my first HTML tag (Hello World), and opened it live on the local server. For about a month after that, I spent a lot of the time on the internet scouting for resources on web development be it videos or written resources. Through an IG Live video hosted by one of my favorite tech content creators, Amina (yeahshewrites on Instagram and Twitter) mentioned a coding roadmap that she had published for anyone looking to venture into the software development field. The YeahSheWrites Coding Road Map led me to FreeCodeCamp which formed the start of my journey right from HTML.

My personal journey to becoming a software developer has been filled with very high highs and some very hard moments when it feels like a concept was just a bit too hard to understand. Through it all, I have turned to content such as videos and articles to understand concepts better, improve my skills and knowledge, and also learn new concepts. It is through this that I decided to become a technical writer; to share my knowledge with others who are coming up in the industry and are looking for resources to improve how they understand certain web development principles and concepts; and to a greater extent, reinforce my understanding of the concepts that I research on and write about.

#HashnodeBootcamp #hashnode #technicalwriting